Education

Pathway Leader:
Martin Oliver martin.oliver@ucl.ac.uk

Team members:
Sarah Crafter s.crafter@ucl.ac.uk
Will Gibson w.gibson@ucl.ac.uk
Christine Han c.han@ucl.ac.uk
Rob Higham r.higham@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Jenkins andrew.jenkins@ucl.ac.uk
Phil Jones phil.jones@ucl.ac.uk
Maria Kambouri m.kambouri@ucl.ac.uk
Jane Perryman j.perryman@ucl.ac.uk
Tom Woodin t.woodin@ucl.ac.uk

Pathway Institution Training Route 1+3 2+3 +3 +4
Education UCL Education

The study of education within the UCL, Bloomsbury and East London DTP takes place in a research rich environment combining methodological and conceptual innovation with engaged projects that have impact on local, national and international policy and practice. Much research activity is managed through more than 45 research centres. These include: the UCL Knowledge Lab (Leading interdisciplinary digital research and design in education); the Thomas Coram Research Unit (specialists in researching children and families that are most vulnerable to economic and social adversity);  the Social Science Research Unit; the Centre for Global Higher Education; the Centre for Learning and Life Chances in the Knowledge Economies and Societies; the Centre for Holocaust Education; the Centre for Research and Evaluation in Muslim Education; the Development Education Research Centre; the International Centre for Education and Democratic Citizenship, the London Centre for Leadership and Learning, the Centre for Digital Arts Research in Education, and the Centre for Critical Education Policy Studies. This vast range of research provides opportunities for disciplinary and interdisciplinary doctoral work supported by the most relevant and expert supervision.

The Education pathway offers a single route, which will be available in 1+3, +3 and +4 structures (or part time equivalents). Students following a 1+3 structure will begin with the MRes in Educational and Social Research. The +4 structure will involve students taking only the taught elements of the MRes ESR, without a dissertation, within the Integrated MPhil/PhD programme. There is an extensive, well established Doctoral Training Programme for the later stages that includes more than 19 introductory courses and a similar number of advanced methodological and theoretical options.

Potential PhD students should apply first (by 1 December 2017) to the department of their choice using the normal application procedure. For guidance see:

http://www.ucl.ac.uk/ioe/courses/graduate-research/find-a-supervisor

Eligible departments at UCL Institute of Education are: Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment; Culture, Communication and Media; Education, Practice and Society; Learning and Leadership; Social Science: http://www.ucl.ac.uk/ioe/courses/graduate-research