UCL, Bloomsbury and East London Doctoral Training Partnership

The UCL, Bloomsbury and East London Doctoral Training Partnership is an ESRC-funded organisation which brings together five leading Social Science institutions

About Us

Our Vision

The DTP’s strategic vision is driven by a shared emphasis on interdisciplinary research; a multiplicity of existing connections within and across the partners; a joint apetite for engagement with non-academic partners; and a collective embedding in London, a super-diverse city with global reach and one of the largest populations of doctoral students anywhere in the world.

We are guided by a collective aim to foreground learning how to work across boundaries(disciplinary, institutional and professional) and work to produce graduates with the ability and flexibility to operate at the highest level within the London context and elsewhere, moving between local, national and international concerns.

Prospective Students

ESRC Studentships

The UBEL DTP’s fully funded ESRC studentships cover full payment of tuition fees per year and an annual maintenance stipend.

ESRC Co-funded studentships

Co-funded and Collaborative Studentships are doctoral projects which are jointly and collaboratively run by both academic and non-academic organisations.

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellowships

Fellowships are aimed at those in the immediate postdoctoral stage of their career, to provide the opportunity to consolidate their PhD through developing publications, their networks, and their research and professional skills.


ESRC’s 2021 flagship celebration of economics and social science

UK’s biggest celebration of social research returns this November as ESRC’s festival highlights the impact of social sciences and economics on people’s lives. The 2021 festival will run from 1 to 30 November. There will be a number of events themed around social science and the environment, to reflect the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP26)  taking […]

Decolonial Research Methods (Webinar Series)

Decolonial Research Methods webinar series with Vineeta Sinha, Linda T. Smith, Raewyn Connell, Walter Mignolo, Sujata Patel & Jeong-Eun Rhee About this event While the popularisation of a coherent decolonial paradigm may be one of the most significant developments within academia in recent years, there has not been enough focus on the implications of this […]

IFS recruitment event 2021

19 October 2021 | 17:00 – 18:30 | Online Only At IFS, we recruit top-quality economists. We specialise in the economic analysis of public policy, bridging the gap between purely academic research and issues of practical policy design or evaluation. Working with IFS gives the opportunity to carry out in-depth economic research and communicate your findings […]