Urban Planning and Project Management

Pathway Leader:
Yvonne Rydin y.rydin@ucl.ac.uk

Team members:
Hedley Smyth h.smyth@ucl.ac.uk
Nick Phelps n.phelps@ucl.ac.uk
Matthew Carmona m.carmona@ucl.ac.uk
John Tomaney j.tomaney@ucl.ac.uk
Mike Raco m.raco@ucl.ac.uk
Grant Mills g.mills@ucl.ac.uk

Pathway Institution Training Route 1+3 2+3 +3 +4
Urban Planning & Project Management UCL Inter-Disciplinary Urban Design
UCL International Real Estate & Planning
UCL Project Leadership
UCL Spatial Planning
UCL Urban Regeneration

 

The Bartlett School of Planning (BSP) has been at the forefront of planning research for almost 100 years and is one of the foremost planning schools in the UK. The School of Construction and Project Management [CPM] is an international centre of excellence in the teaching and research of project management and economics. Both sit within the multi-disciplinary Bartlett Faculty of the Built Environment, providing students with a rich environment of inter-disciplinary study and discourse from which to draw. They have made major contributions to knowledge that range from understanding the fundamentals of urban space, society and development to processes of planning, infrastructure management, governance, regeneration and investment, to analysis of the outcomes from planning as it affects urban quality, culture, sustainability and movement. The BSP’s research is broad and organised into six themes: Sustainable development; Spatial planning; Urban design; Regeneration and development; Transport and infrastructure; and Housing, society and culture. CPM is a leading centre for research on institutional theory applied to multi-public/private organisational coordination, portfolio and programme management for urban regeneration. Their major research areas are in the management of projects, enterprise management, and the economics and finance of the built environment. Each of the existing Planning Masters courses (MRes and MSc) and the MRes Project Leadership being introduced in 2017 consist of a series of compulsory and optional modules, research methods training and a supervised research dissertation. In order to be considered for a +3 studentship, applicants must have completed or be on track to complete at- or near- ESRC-level research methods training within a Planning or CPM-related MSc. In the first instance, prospective students are asked to contact the Departmental Graduate Tutor in BSP or CPM, depending on their proposed topic (see BSP and CPM web sites for details).