Human Geography

Pathway Leader:
Tariq Jazeel t.jazeel@ucl.ac.uk

Team Members:
Helen Bennion h.bennion@ucl.ac.uk
Ben Page b.page@ucl.ac.uk
Seth Gustafson s.gustafson@ucl.ac.uk
Mirco Musolesi m.musolesi@ucl.ac.uk
Alan Latham a.latham@ucl.ac.uk
Jasmine Gideon j.gideon@bbk.ac.uk

Pathway Institution Training Route 1+3 2+3 +3 +4
Human Geography UCL Environment, Politics and Society
UCL Global Migration
UCL Geographic Information Science
UCL Geospatial Analysis

The Human Geography pathway is based in UCL Department of Geography, a world-leading centre for geographical research, teaching and public engagement. The pathway reflects the interdisciplinary orientation of much geographical research and the department is a leading centre for interdisciplinary and cross-RCUK research training. We welcome applications across the discipline, particularly where proposed projects complement our existing areas of research strength. Advanced (+3) training is also available through co-supervision with colleagues in Birkbeck Department of Geography, Environment and Development Studies.

Research interests of particular relevance to ESRC address:

  1. Culture and Migration (aligned with the MSc Global Migration)
  2. Environment, Politics and Society (aligned with the MSc Environment, Politics and Society)
  3. Geospatial Analytics and Computing (aligned with the MSc Geographic Information Science and MSc Geospatial Analysis)
  4. Global Urbanisms (linked with the cross-disciplinary MSc Urban Studies)

Four routes through the pathway are available in both 1+3 and +3 structures. On 1+3 routes, students pursue core research methods training appropriate to their programme. Advanced training is provided through close collaboration with supervisors, with further support provided to multidisciplinary research students through supervision by Geography academics working in environmental sciences including through joint supervision of ESRC-NERC multidisciplinary studentships. Specialised advanced training in Big Data and geospatial analytics is available through integration with the ESRC Consumer Data Research Centre.

Potential applicants through the Human Geography Pathway should in the first instance contact potential supervisors to discuss project ideas, copying the Pathway Leader (t.jazeel@ucl.ac.uk) into correspondence.