Gender and Sexuality

Pathway Leader:

Rosie Cox r.cox@bbk.ac.uk
Kate Maclean k.maclean@bbk.ac.uk

Team  Members:
Nadje Al-Ali n.s.al-ali@soas.ac.uk
Rosie Campbell r.campbell@bbk.ac.uk
Stephen Maddison s.maddison@uel.ac.uk
Jessica Ringrose j.ringrose@ucl.ac.uk
Ruba Salih ruba.salih@soas.ac.uk
Gina Heathcote gh21@soas.ac.uk
Ann Varley a.varley@ucl.ac.uk

Pathway Institution Training Route 1+3 2+3 +3 +4
Gender and Sexuality BBK Gender and Sexuality
UCL Gender and Sexuality Studies
UCL Education, Gender and International Development
SOAS Gender Studies
UEL Gender and Sexuality Studies

Gender and Sexuality research in the UCL, Bloomsbury and East London DTP is vibrant and diverse. It is characterised by interdisciplinarity and the innovative use of mixed methods.  Expertise within the DTP is provided in the areas of gender and: international development (Birkbeck, SOAS, UCL, UEL); psychosocial studies and sociology (Birkbeck, UCL, UEL); law (Birkbeck, SOAS); media and cultural studies (Birkbeck, SOAS, UCL, UEL); sexuality and history (Birkbeck, UCL, UEL); and education and childhood studies (UCL, UEL). Cross-cutting research themes include issues of gender in social movements, citizenship and participation; the life-course, care, love and home; space, place, nation and the environment; ‘race’/ethnicity, migration, diaspora and belonging; violence, state violence and war; learning and higher education; human rights, journalism and new media; embodiment; communities and collective life; empire and postcoloniality; religion. The consortium members have particular regional expertise in Africa, Asia/Pacific region, the Middle East and Latin America.

The Gender and Sexuality pathway offers 1+3 routes at Birkbeck and UCL IOE, and +3 routes at Birkbeck, SOAS, UCL and UEL.  These routes provide robust research training with opportunities for students to follow their diverse interests and training needs. The Birkbeck-based 1+3 route is linked to the MSc Social Research The UCL IOE-based route is linked to the Education, Gender and International Development programmes, which are part of IOE’s extensive education-related provision. Students entering the +3 routes will have already completed a masters involving social science research, and will have received good preliminary training in both quantitative and qualitative research methods, as well as having some background in gender/ sexuality issues.  All routes are offered in full-time and part-time modes; the taught component of the Birkbeck-based route is available in the evenings.

Potential PhD students should apply first (by 1 December 2017) to the institution of their choice using the normal application procedure.

For Birkbeck see http://www.bbk.ac.uk/study/2016/phd/programmes/RMPGENDR/
For SOAS see https://www.soas.ac.uk/genderstudies/pg-in-gender-stud/
For UCL IOE see https://www.ucl.ac.uk/ioe/courses/graduate-research
For UCL see http://www.ucl.ac.uk/gender-studies/prospective-students/mphil-phd
For UEL see https://www.uel.ac.uk/Postgraduate-Research