Categories
News

UBEL DTP Support – Application for additional funding – November 2021 – January 2022

UBEL DTP has allocated some funding to further support students. The allocation of funding will be assessed on a needs priority basis and will cover stipend costs only. Please note that funding is limited and that extensions will only be granted to students whose research has been impacted by covid and are unable to mitigate.

Students that want to apply for the additional funding must complete the form below by Friday 21st January 2022.

For more information, please refer to the UKRI website: https://www.ukri.org/our-work/tackling-the-impact-of-covid-19/guidance-for-applicants-and-awardholders-impacted-by-the-pandemic/

Categories
News

Freelance Research Associate opportunity – Shaping Social Mobility: Education & Employment

Cumberland Lodge seeks to appoint a freelance Research Associate to support our forthcoming conference, ‘Shaping Social Mobility: Education & Employment’.

This role will include researching and writing a pre-conference briefing document and a post-conference report summarising key recommendations for change. You will also be required to participate in a residential cross-sector conference in Windsor Great Park, an online consultation, and a central London report launch.

Further details and a full job description can be found here on their website.

Categories
News

Growing Up Bilingual:
Researcher and Practitioner Synergies

We are happy to invite fellow colleagues to our BPS-funded Seminar series: Growing Up Bilingual: Researcher and Practitioner Synergies. The first seminar of the series will be taking place online, with the aim of bringing together academics and practitioners specialised or interested in bilingual development. As my Ph.D. project concludes next year, we hope this series will be a great chance to make such research accessible and we are fortunate to have a great range of speakers. 

Attached is the promotional flyer which includes the registration link, or participants can register as follows: 

Seminar 1 – How do Bilingual Children Acquire and Maintain Their Languages?

Date/time/place – 5th November 2021, 12:30-4:30pm, ONLINE*

*To register (free): please follow this link. And/or please feel free to pass on the attached flyer to anyone who may be interested.”

“We are happy to invite fellow colleagues to our BPS-funded Seminar series: Growing Up Bilingual: Researcher and Practitioner Synergies. The first seminar of the series will be taking place online, with the aim of bringing together academics and practitioners specialised or interested in bilingual development. As my Ph.D. project concludes next year, we hope this series will be a great chance to make such research accessible and we are fortunate to have a great range of speakers. 

Attached is the promotional flyer which includes the registration link, or participants can register as follows: 

Seminar 1 – How do Bilingual Children Acquire and Maintain Their Languages?

Date/time/place – 5th November 2021, 12:30-4:30pm, ONLINE*

*To register (free): please follow this link. And/or please feel free to pass on the attached flyer to anyone who may be interested.

Categories
News

ESRC’s 2021 flagship celebration of economics and social science

UK’s biggest celebration of social research returns this November as ESRC’s festival highlights the impact of social sciences and economics on people’s lives.

The 2021 festival will run from 1 to 30 November. There will be a number of events themed around social science and the environment, to reflect the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP26)  taking place from 31 October to 12 November 2021 in Glasgow. More than 400 free public and youth events will be available with a mixture of online, in-person and hybrid formats.

The festival, now in its 19th year, includes:

  • panel debates
  • webinars
  • interactive activities.

These events will offer an insight into some of the country’s leading social science and economics research and how it influences everyone’s lives:

  • at work
  • in school
  • when raising children
  • in businesses and the public sector
  • across our communities
Categories
News

Decolonial Research Methods (Webinar Series)

Decolonial Research Methods webinar series with Vineeta Sinha, Linda T. Smith, Raewyn Connell, Walter Mignolo, Sujata Patel & Jeong-Eun Rhee

About this event

While the popularisation of a coherent decolonial paradigm may be one of the most significant developments within academia in recent years, there has not been enough focus on the implications of this ‘decolonial turn’ for research methods and methodologies. In this webinar series, eminent decolonial experts will reflect on some of the key issues relating to the coloniality/decoloniality of academic research methods and methodologies. This webinar series will prompt academic researchers to explore the ways in which academic research may either reinforce or dislodge colonial discourses.

Prof Vineeta Sinha (National University of Singapore)

26th October 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 05:00 ~ Cape Town: 10:00 ~ Tehran: 11:30 ~ Jakarta: 15:00

Prof Linda T. Smith (Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi)

2nd November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 03:00 ~ Cape Town: 08:00 ~ Tehran: 9:30 ~ Jakarta: 13:00

Prof Raewyn Connell (University of Sydney)

9th November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 04:00 ~ Cape Town: 09:00 ~ Tehran: 10:30 ~ Jakarta: 14:00

Prof Walter Mignolo (Duke University)

23rd November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 11:00 ~ Cape Town: 16:00 ~ Tehran: 17:30 ~ Jakarta: 21:00

Prof Sujata Patel (Umeå University)

30th November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 05:00 ~ Cape Town: 10:00 ~ Tehran: 11:30 ~ Jakarta: 15:00

Prof Jeong-Eun Rhee (Long Island University, Post)

7th December 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 09:00 ~ Cape Town: 14:00 ~ Tehran: 15:30 ~ Jakarta: 19:00

The webinar series has been organised by Dr Leon Moosavi, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology at the University of Liverpool and Director of the University of Liverpool in Singapore

The webinar series has been funded by the National Centre for Research Methods (UK)

Registration

Registering on this page will register you for all of the webinars. Those who cannot attend all of the webinars are welcome to just attend the ones that they can make. The webinars will be held on Zoom. Non-academics and academics from all disciplines are welcome to attend. Recordings of some parts of the webinars will be shared with all of those who register after the webinar series has concluded.

Privacy Note

Please note that the webinars will be recorded. Some parts of the recordings will be uploaded online and publicly disseminated in both audio-visual and transcript format. The webinar series will also inform future academic publications about decolonial research methods. Those who do not want to be captured in the recordings or transcripts should turn their webcams and microphones off.