Categories
News

ESRC’s 2021 flagship celebration of economics and social science

UK’s biggest celebration of social research returns this November as ESRC’s festival highlights the impact of social sciences and economics on people’s lives.

The 2021 festival will run from 1 to 30 November. There will be a number of events themed around social science and the environment, to reflect the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP26)  taking place from 31 October to 12 November 2021 in Glasgow. More than 400 free public and youth events will be available with a mixture of online, in-person and hybrid formats.

The festival, now in its 19th year, includes:

  • panel debates
  • webinars
  • interactive activities.

These events will offer an insight into some of the country’s leading social science and economics research and how it influences everyone’s lives:

  • at work
  • in school
  • when raising children
  • in businesses and the public sector
  • across our communities
Categories
News

Decolonial Research Methods (Webinar Series)

Decolonial Research Methods webinar series with Vineeta Sinha, Linda T. Smith, Raewyn Connell, Walter Mignolo, Sujata Patel & Jeong-Eun Rhee

About this event

While the popularisation of a coherent decolonial paradigm may be one of the most significant developments within academia in recent years, there has not been enough focus on the implications of this ‘decolonial turn’ for research methods and methodologies. In this webinar series, eminent decolonial experts will reflect on some of the key issues relating to the coloniality/decoloniality of academic research methods and methodologies. This webinar series will prompt academic researchers to explore the ways in which academic research may either reinforce or dislodge colonial discourses.

Prof Vineeta Sinha (National University of Singapore)

26th October 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 05:00 ~ Cape Town: 10:00 ~ Tehran: 11:30 ~ Jakarta: 15:00

Prof Linda T. Smith (Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi)

2nd November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 03:00 ~ Cape Town: 08:00 ~ Tehran: 9:30 ~ Jakarta: 13:00

Prof Raewyn Connell (University of Sydney)

9th November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 04:00 ~ Cape Town: 09:00 ~ Tehran: 10:30 ~ Jakarta: 14:00

Prof Walter Mignolo (Duke University)

23rd November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 11:00 ~ Cape Town: 16:00 ~ Tehran: 17:30 ~ Jakarta: 21:00

Prof Sujata Patel (Umeå University)

30th November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 05:00 ~ Cape Town: 10:00 ~ Tehran: 11:30 ~ Jakarta: 15:00

Prof Jeong-Eun Rhee (Long Island University, Post)

7th December 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 09:00 ~ Cape Town: 14:00 ~ Tehran: 15:30 ~ Jakarta: 19:00

The webinar series has been organised by Dr Leon Moosavi, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology at the University of Liverpool and Director of the University of Liverpool in Singapore

The webinar series has been funded by the National Centre for Research Methods (UK)

Registration

Registering on this page will register you for all of the webinars. Those who cannot attend all of the webinars are welcome to just attend the ones that they can make. The webinars will be held on Zoom. Non-academics and academics from all disciplines are welcome to attend. Recordings of some parts of the webinars will be shared with all of those who register after the webinar series has concluded.

Privacy Note

Please note that the webinars will be recorded. Some parts of the recordings will be uploaded online and publicly disseminated in both audio-visual and transcript format. The webinar series will also inform future academic publications about decolonial research methods. Those who do not want to be captured in the recordings or transcripts should turn their webcams and microphones off.

Categories
News Training Opportunities

IFS recruitment event 2021

19 October 2021 | 17:00 – 18:30 | Online Only

At IFS, we recruit top-quality economists. We specialise in the economic analysis of public policy, bridging the gap between purely academic research and issues of practical policy design or evaluation. Working with IFS gives the opportunity to carry out in-depth economic research and communicate your findings to politicians, journalists, academics and others such as campaigning groups and professional organisations.

We are always looking for passionate full-time and part-time research economists, post-doctoral fellows, graduate scholars and summer students.

At this virtual recruitment event, we are offering an opportunity to meet IFS senior staff, and ask questions about life at IFS and our recruitment process. We’ll explain what a day as an IFS researcher looks like, what projects we work on, what areas of research we cover, opportunities for further study, your career goals and careers our staff have moved on to.

Copyright © 2021 Institute for Fiscal Studies, All rights reserved.

Categories
News

A farewell message from our Director Professor Li Wei

Dear All

I am very pleased to let you know that ESRC has approved the appointment of Professor Julie Dockrell as the new Director of the UBEL DTP, starting from 1st September, following a competitive selection process. Many of you know Julie and her work. She holds a Chair in Psychology and Special Needs at the UCL Institute of Education. You can find more information about her here.

I am sure Julie will lead the DTP to more successes.  It’s been a real privilege to work with you all. I wish you all the very best for the future.

Best wishes

Li Wei

Categories
News Training Opportunities

Apply for the Alexander Fleming Prize 2021

The Alexander Fleming Prize – prize for a doctoral thesis level project to solve challenges in global health (UK based researcher)

The Alexander Fleming Prize, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, is a £20,000 prize for a doctoral thesis level project which will benefit global public health, particularly health issues affecting people living in low and middle income countries. Deadline is 15 August.